Easter 2016.

Welcome to Lexi’s Easter Brunch, part two – were I make a meal for one day and probably bought too much food to cook in time before it goes bad.

It was also a chance to use an app I downloaded recently for once.

This year’s menu consists of:


1. Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins.
Kyle likes to buy bananas to eat in the mornings, but never eats them. So they just sit on the counter and rot. A waste of money. I thought I could help with that problem by making some banana bread… until I realized that I don’t have a bread pan, so the next best idea was to make muffins. Then I also remembered that we have chocolate chips in our freezer. This was also a recipe made from scratch, so I started on making these first. Super moist and you can taste all the flavorings of the banana and chocolate. Score.


2. Bacon Wrapped Mushrooms.
For a side, I wanted again to make something rather than just bacon. I had also bought a pack of mushrooms because I love mushrooms, and it gave me an idea. Looked up a simple recipe and completed all three steps. The problem I had was that I only have one oven and it’s baking my muffins at this point, so I had to use my toaster oven to bake it off. I was worried about the bacon not being cooked, but my side mushrooms burning. Kyle tells me that I could’ve cooked them a little longer, but it was still good nonetheless.


3. Asparagus and Spinach Fritatta.
I asked Kyle what he would want for the main dish and he said for me to make a fritatta… which was upsetting since I made one last year. I settled with it and then asked what he would like in it. He’s been on a spinach and asparagus kick lately, so that was a stupid question on my part. I chopped up the asparagus, sauteed them with some baby spinach, and then poured my egg mixture over. Cooked on the stove, then oven, and then broiled for 3 minutes, topping it off with some shredded cheddar. This one was easier to make because I used my dad’s cast iron rather than just a pan.

The menu wasn’t as big as last years, but it was definitely better now that I’ve been cooking meals and getting better at time management.


Plate and serve and enjoy.


(For my vegetarian ass haha)

Voice Your Opinions?

