Almost Here.

December 29th became the date that I was anticipating my whole life. I never thought this moment could happen ever again, but I was so lucky to be a part of the experience.

Shortly after the Fifteen Year Show that I posted about back in July, William (remember my idol?) posted on his Instagram that one of his old albums was coming up on its 10th year and that the band was going to do an anniversary tour.

That meant, The Academy Is… was getting back together.

I was speechless, I never thought that could be even possible. But like any other kid that went, I had to go too.

… which I did $70 later.

The show was held at The Regency Ballroom in San Francisco and it was quite a drive there now that I live in Sacramento. I think living here added an extra hour compared to our normal drive there. Anyway, by the time we got there, the line was heading inside. Great timing.




The first and only opening band was a group called PartyBaby. Never heard of them and I expected the worst, coming from a name like “PartyBaby”. They actually took me by surprise as they were really good, but I think their performance brought everything they’re about to life. The frontman was very comfortable on stage, which is maybe why I liked it so much.

Plus the whole time I was standing there, I couldn’t get over the fact that his hair reminded me of Claudio Sanchez from Coheed and Cambria. That was honestly the whole thought I had in my head for their 30 minute set.





Finally the moment I’ve been waiting for since the last show I’ve been to in ’07. The wait was surely well worth it. Eight years later, I am face to face with the band that saved my life. Everything about it was what I had wished for and more. I wish I could describe the experience, but I can’t. It’s just something you’ll have to experience for yourself. Trust me, it’s a great feeling.

The one thing I didn’t like was how most of my photos came out so terrible. I hate blue and red lighting at a show. Just ruins everything.

Other than that, the night was phenomenal. If I could relive the moment, I would in a heartbeat. For now, I have my music, my new band tee, and their mug they were selling in their merch. I couldn’t pass that one up.

Now that I think about it, if they’re doing anniversary tours, will we expect them again in 2017 for the 10th anniversary of Santi? Fingers crossed.

Voice Your Opinions?

