Jalapeno Cheddar Crisps.


Because I work at a bread place, only natural to have this abundance of bread that you don’t know what to do with it all. Rather than just making the usual sandwiches, I’ve been kicking my skills up a notch with other ways to enjoy bread. I’ve been making bread crisps with our baguettes for a while (forgot to post that moment, oops) and decided to give this a change. Tonight, I made some jalapeno cheddar crisps.

What you’ll need:
~ Your choice of jalapeno cheddar bread.
Unfortunately I’m using my last loaf from work until next year. Damn seasonal breads..
~ Shredded cheese.
I used Colby Jack and some old Parmesan that I need to finish up.
~ Diced tomatoes.
~ Bacon bits.
Note, bacon bits are completely veggie friendly as they are made with soy.
~ Thyme.

– Makes 10 crisps –

1. First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. That’s about 180 degrees if you’re using Celsius.
2. Then, you want to start prepping some things. Cut your loaf to a reasonable thickness. I usually just eyeball what I want. You could do the same, but keep in mind that these are supposed to be crisps..
3. If you haven’t already had diced up tomatoes beforehand like I did, now would be an excellent time to do so. You may only need just half of the tomato, if not less.
4. Get your favorite baking sheet and place aluminum foil inside. Begin placing your bread on top of the sheet.
5. Place your shredded cheese on top of the bread and then your diced tomatoes on top of the cheese. I thought the tomatoes would give the bruschetta effect without all the extra work.
4. Add bacon bits for some protein (okay, mainly just because they’re bacon bits. I mean, why not?) and thyme on top of it all for additional flavoring.
5. Pop those suckers into your preheated oven for 10-15 minutes, depending on your oven.
6. ?
7. Profit.

After your long, enduring wait, about a minute of cooling should suffice.

If you’re looking for just a simple snack or something to munch down within a time limit, you can’t go wrong with stuff on bread. Give this a try or come up with some ingredients of your own. Possibilities are endless.

Voice Your Opinions?

