Honey Walnut Shrimp Stir Fry.

Out of all food questions, Kyle asks if I know how to make a stir fry. Choice of veggies and a frying pan. How hard can it be? Of course he mentioned a craving for it and naturally I took it as a sign that I had to make it, no questions asked. The next day at work, I began to mentally prep an idea of what to make. Stir fry was already a given, but I also had the idea to make some honey walnut shrimp on the side. After looking up a few recipes, I found one that would be simple to make. That also meant I had to pick up even more ingredients for this two person meal.

Recipe for the shrimp here if you’d like to give it a try yourself.


First thing’s first, preparation. Making sure I have everything before I continue on. I was about to have a lot going on within this dish, timing was everything.


I started mixing my veggies first before anything. I used carrots, broccoli, asparagus, zucchini, and mushrooms. I chopped them as best as I could and threw them all in a big mixing bowl. Just place the bowl in the fridge, we’ll get back to these later.


Next comes prepping the walnuts. Can’t have honey walnut shrimp without them. They’re in the name of course! The recipe says to boil water and sugar together and then to toss the walnuts in along. Let it sit for some minutes and drain out to dry. The nuts should be of sugary coat.

(Was in a rush to take this photo, oops.)


I’ve also included some soba noodles with the fry. I just let these simmer for the entirety since noodles don’t take long.


Prepping the shrimp was the worst idea to do last since everything was already on its way, especially when they were frozen. I had Kyle help me de-shell/de-tail them. After minutes of frozen cold fingers, I threw these in the batter.

Instructions for the batter in the recipe link.
Fry these for a few minutes or until golden brown.


While frying up the shrimp, I also started frying the veggies with a little bit of teriyaki sauce. I forgot to put the soba noodles in with it, oops.


After finishing the shrimp, start mixing the honey coat. Instructions in the recipe link. After creating the glop of sugar, pour the walnuts and the shrimp into and coat thoroughly. The recipe calls for the walnuts to be as a garnish, but since I’m making it, so I went with my idea.

Once everything is done, start plating. I had rice already premade, so I started with that, then the soba noodles, the veggies, and the shrimp on the side. You should get something like this:

… never again will I make this all at once.

Voice Your Opinions?

