Can’t Avoid Sandwiches.

Coming from someone that works at a restaurant that serves sandwiches, you’d think I’d be tired of them. Yeah I get upset over the fact I basically could just easily go to my work and pretty much get my meal for free, but sandwiches can be so diverse that the possibilities are endless.

Juan, Katy, and Stephanie were over for the night on Tuesday and Kyle kept insisting that the next day, they had to try out a sandwich place we found a few months ago after searching for hole in the wall places. The shop is called Dad’s Sandwiches and the one we go to is located on S Street. They have a wide selection of sandwiches and a few salads and a couple meals if you want something more. Kyle’s go to sandwich is the Blue Collar Dream, which has tri tip, Monterrey jack cheese, olives, onion, bell peppers, mushroom, and various spreads on a french roll. I haven’t tried it, but from the smell of it, it’s pretty damn good. Also it has tri tip, what more could you want? Stephanie went with same as well and she loved every second of it. Juan had the Oppa! which had salami, feta, red peppers, olives, onion, lettuce, wax peppers, spreads on foccacia. It looked like an upgrade on a simple Italian sandwich. I might have to get that, but substitute the meat if possible. More feta! How I would like it. Unfortunately, I couldn’t get photos for these because everyone started eating before I could get my phone ready. What pigs..


My go to is always the Hot Tuna. Albacore with Jack cheese, onion, olives, tomato, dijon on toasted sourdough (of course). It’s the perfect tuna sandwich I ever had. It also has a pepper sauce, but I usually eliminate that. It already has enough spice from the dijon, why ruin it? Also I’m not a fan of onions, but they do make the sandwich when you keep them in. All around best thing ever.

Fun fact, my favorite San Pellegrino is the blood orange grapefruit flavored one. Feel free to shower me with these gifts.

Dad’s also serves breakfast until 11, so we might have to try that out someday.


Stephanie headed home an hour after that and Juan and Katy pretty much stayed the rest of the day. I ended up making dinner for everyone: burgers. I don’t really know if a burger is classified as a sandwich, but anything between two pieces of bread is one to me. Anyway, we had frozen patties and my Boca burgers that I had to prep everything before I can really start.

Ingredients as followed:
~ One sliced tomato.
~ One sliced cucumber.
~ Rinsed out spring mix.
~ One mashed avocado, seasoned with salt and pepper (I learned this from work when training in the kitchen).
~ One package of crimini mushrooms sauteed in teriyaki sauce.
~ Pickles.
~ Your choice of condiments. We used mayo, mustard, and ketchup.
~ Lightly toasted potato bread buns.

Once you get everything all set and ready, the cooking begins. Basically cook your patty to your standard, not really that hard. I added a slice of cheddar to melt on top of the patty minutes before it was completely done. After that, begin serving. I made up mine and Kyle’s while I let the others do their own thing. I added everything on that list and he added pepperoncini to his plate. I hate pepperoncinis.

For a vegetarian, I can cook some pretty good meat dishes. Even though it’s halfway cheated most of the time, but I know how to spruce it up a bit and make it my own. Whoever is at my place when I have food, you might be taken care of for dinner.. if there’s an established menu floating somewhere.

2 thoughts on “Can’t Avoid Sandwiches.

  1. Yayy post after post!! When you hash tagged dad’s sandwiches on your IG I seriously thought it was your dad’s lol. I need to sleepover and be catered to at your apartment some time soon.. I miss our drunk night’s together 😦

Voice Your Opinions?

