‘Ruff’ Reading.

I’ve caught a connection with my inner bookworm and have been on a reading spree ever since. Once I bought my first book for the first time in forever a few months ago, there was no turning back. Lately, my particular themed genre have been stories of fictional dogs. Me, being the canine lover I am, cannot pass up a good book that has dog inspiration.

I had bought “Dog Tags” some month ago at a local thrift store. The story goes of a retired cop and his German Shepherd partner have become partners in crime, stealing amongst. The two witness a killing and the cop is caught, assumed convict of the crime. If pleaded guilty, his dog/partner could be put down to rest. A dog loving attorney comes to the rescue (after much thought) and decides to represent the pup, convincing the Judge that he should live.

To be honest, I only read a fourth of this book since it is one of those small novels that most women in their thirties read with tiny printed lettering. Eventually it strained my eyes that I had to put the book aside for a while. I’m only up to their second trial, and I can’t wait to find out what happens next… once I get better eyesight.

“The Art of Racing in The Rain” is also my second reason why I put “Dog Tags” aside. This is a life story told through the perspective one of the two main characters: a philosophic dog named Enzo. He tells his story of his puppyhood, life with his owner/well known race car driver Denny, and the family that is built up and soon falls apart. Enzo also learns a lot about racing from Denny and applies racing skills to that of life.

This was one of the first books that had me in tears in a long time, but the ending was just pure joy.

After the previous book, I grew fond of the dog perspective stories and wanted more. I soon found “A Dog’s Purpose” when finding other reads to purchase and it had great reviews, as well as being a New York Times and a USA Today Bestseller. Not to give much away because there is a lot within the story, it involves a pup with multiple lives as he tries to find his purpose in life of being constantly reborn a new breed. He learns a lot about each human relationships and applies what he’s learned previously (and then some) to help the next owner in need.

With an awesome seller, there’s always a sequel to follow. “A Dog’s Journey” follows the same dog, but now with the story of one of his previous owner’s teenaged granddaughter and how their relationship becomes stronger overtime once the pup realizes his purpose was not over yet.

Both “Purpose” and “Journey” were both automatic tear jerkers for me, visualizing Bailey as if she was the one telling the story. The constant rebirth of the dog seemed overwhelming and gradually became predictable, but overall, two of the best novels ever read of a different theme.

Why I share these books is because not only were they some great reads (well, three out of four so far oops), but because of being a dog lover, I wanted to share why dogs are such an important species to the world and should be more accepted. Lately, I’ve been around people thinking a dog is just a dog. A dog happens to be more than that. They are pets to be helped, they are friends to be played with, they are family to be loved. If anyone that thinks very low of them reads one of the following, it would definitely change their mind in an instant, even if it is just fictitious animals.

Now, time to play with my puppy that I love.

4 thoughts on “‘Ruff’ Reading.

Voice Your Opinions?

